The Iroquois Steeplechase staff works closely with the Volunteer State Horsemen's Foundation Trustees, as well as the Race Committee, to manage and produce an annual world-class event that supports the Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt, promotes the sport of steeplechasing, and the spirit of amateurism throughout the community.


Staff Members

Libby Cheek, Executive Director

With more than 15 years of experience in leadership roles with nonprofit organizations, Libby has an expert touch in all areas of community relations. Libby oversees and manages many of the event planning details, sponsorship development strategies, and serves as the community relations executive for Iroquois Steeplechase. Additionally, Libby acts as principal liaison for all communication and joint events with our cause, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt. As the lovely face of the Iroquois Steeplechase, you can catch Libby in print and on television sharing the latest on race day happenings.


Jane Ann Whitson, Race Coordinator

Working on the event since 1995, Jane Ann has a long history with the race and oversees every aspect of race preparation with great passion and special insight. Handling many executive operations functions behind the scenes with vendors, sponsors and partners, Jane Ann provides business leadership and event coordination from an operations perspective. Look for Jane Ann on race day; she will be ringing the bell to call the horses to post!

GeorgeAnn Dingus, Sponsorship and Business Development Director

GeorgeAnn brings corporate level insights and a wealth of experience to the Iroquois Steeplechase. Prior to joining the organization in 2010, GeorgeAnn was Marketing Manager for major Southwest Airlines cities, simultaneously managing the marketing, promotions, business sales, non-profit donations, budgets, brand development, revenues and market-share growth, customer relations, and media and government relations. She has long specialized in designing unique sponsorships and strategic partnerships, and her ideas have led to innovations that further enhance the Iroquois Steeplechase race-day experience for guests. That added value propels our sponsors and partnerships, and increases revenues for our cause.


Dorothy Thornton, Production & Brand Development Manager

Carrying on the tradition of her grandparents who were part of the very beginnings of the Iroquois Steeplechase, Dorothy is proud to join the Iroquois team as Manager of Production and Brand Development. She has worked with the event on Production and Social Media for several years via her own company and brings a wealth of knowledge to her new role. Dorothy’s prior corporate experience includes Technology Sales & Marketing and extensive work with Fortune 100 companies creating strategies for customer facing applications.  Her education includes an MBA and in-depth training with reporting, analytics, and process improvements in both business to consumer and business to business environments.  When not consumed with the Iroquois Steeplechase, Dorothy spends her time on her Williamson County farm with her husband Mark, horses, chickens, wildflowers, and honey bees.


Holly Hirschman, Account Administration Specialist | Sponsorship & Business Development

With a background as a professional horse trainer and rider, Holly joined the organization in 2017. She has been involved with the Iroquois since childhood, having served as an outrider who escorted the horses from the paddock as a junior in high school; head patrol judge; and a past chair of the Jockey Club party. She is also a former president of a local horse show association, and a past member of the Junior League of Nashville. Holly has two children and is actively involved with various school organizations.

Race Committee

Thomas Magli

Rob Caldwell      

Gary Parkes

Christian Currey      

Ted Thompson

Sara Jo Gill      

Alex F. Wade

John Ingram      

Mary Brockman

Dwight Hall, Chairman

Albert L. Menefee III, President

Stephen K. Heard, Secretary

Marianne Byrd, Treasurer

L. H. Armistead III      

Mrs. Fred W. Lazenby

B. Dale Wiley

Monty McInturff

Volunteer State Horseman's Foundation Trustees

Brownlee O. Currey, Jr.

Sara Jo Gill

Stephen K. Heard

Alex F. Wade